Here’s how the 3rd Democratic presidential debate of 2020 works


Democrats vying for the White House enter a new phase in the election cycle with Thursday night’s third Democratic debate.

How to watch the debate:

The third Democratic primary debate, hosted by ABC News in partnership with Univision, is scheduled for Thursday night in Houston at Texas Southern University, a historically black public university. It will air from 8-11 p.m. on ABC, on Univision with a Spanish translation, locally on KTRK-TV, and on ABC News Live.

The streaming channel is available on, hello america and FiveThirtyEight websites and applications for mobile phones, as well as Hulu Live, The Roku Channel, facebook watchAppleTV, Amazon Fire TV, YouTube, Apple News and Twitter.

How to watch the debate in Spanish:

Podrás seguir el evento en vivo y en español through the pantallas of Univision and the digital platforms of Univision Noticias, such as Facebook, YouTube and Periscope. Además el minuto a minuto de lo que succede en el debate en nuestro liveblog at

Democratic presidential candidates Senator Kirsten Gillibrand, former Housing and Urban Development Secretary Julian Castro, Senator Cory Booker and former Vice President Joe Biden speak during the second round of the second Democratic primary debate in Detroit on July 31, 2019.

Jim Watson/AFP/Getty Images, FILE

Who qualified for the 3rd debate?

The 10 candidates certified by the Democratic National Committee to participate in the debate will appear on stage in the following order, from left to right:

  • Minnesota Senator Amy Klobuchar
  • New Jersey Senator Cory Booker
  • South Bend, Indiana, Mayor Pete Buttigieg
  • Vermont Senator Bernie Sanders
  • Former Vice President Joe Biden
  • Massachusetts Senator Elizabeth Warren
  • California Senator Kamala Harris
  • Contractor Andrew Yang
  • Former Texas Representative Beto O’Rourke
  • Former Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Julián Castro
  • Who moderates the 3rd debate?

    Chief anchor George Stephanopoulos, “World News Tonight” anchor David Muir, ABC News correspondent Linsey Davis and Univision anchor Jorge Ramos will moderate the panel.

    What is the format of the 3rd Democratic debate?

    Presidential candidates will have 1 minute and 15 seconds for direct answers to questions and 45 seconds for answers and rebuttals. Candidates will have the opportunity to make opening statements, but there will be no closing statements.

    Members of the public arrive before a Democratic presidential primary debate Thursday, Sept. 12, 2019, at Texas Southern University in Houston.

    David J. Phillip/AP

    How did the candidates qualify for the 3rd debate?

    The Democratic National Committee earlier this year announced tougher qualifying rules for the fall debates in September and October: Candidates must meet both poll and base funding thresholds.

    To qualify, candidates must score 2% or higher in at least four national polls or polls conducted in the early voting states of Iowa, New Hampshire, South Carolina and/or Nevada and made public between June 28 and August 28. are also required to receive donations from at least 130,000 unique donors during the election cycle, with a minimum of 400 unique donors per state in at least 20 states. Qualifying donations and polls must be received by 11:59 p.m. on August 28 for the September debate.

    All four candidate qualifying surveys must be sponsored by one or more of the following DNC-approved organizations: The Associated Press, ABC News, CBS News, CNN, The Des Moines Register, Fox News, Monmouth University, NBC News, The New York Times, National Public Radio, Quinnipiac University, University of New Hampshire, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, the Washington Post or Winthrop University. They must also be conducted by different organizations or – if they are by the same organization – must be in different geographical areas.

    Who was left off the stage?

    More than half of the crowded Democratic field will be left out of the stage with the strictest qualifying rules and with four candidates – Massachusetts Rep. Seth Moulton, Washington Gov. Jay Inslee, Colorado Gov. John Hickenlooper and Senator of New York’s Kirsten Gillibrand – having dropped out of the race in the weeks leading up to the deadline.

    California activist Tom Steyer and Hawaii representative Tulsi Gabbard hit the donor threshold before the deadline but missed the cut after failing to cross the ballot on Aug. 28.

    Colorado Senator Michael Bennett, Montana Governor Steve Bullock, New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio, former Maryland Rep. John Delaney, Miramar, Fla., Mayor Wayne Messam and Ohio Rep. Tim Ryan ne are also not participating in the September debate, as they have not met the donor threshold or voting requirement.

    PICTURED: Democratic Presidential Debate at the Fox Theater on July 31, 2019 in Detroit.

    Democratic Presidential Candidates, Senator Michael Bennet, Senator Kirsten Gillibrand, Julian Castro, Senator Cory Booker, Former Vice President Joe Biden, Senator Kamala Harris, Andrew Yang, Representative Tulsi Gabbard, Governor of Washington Jay Inslee and New York Mayor Bill De Blasio take the stage during the Democratic presidential debate at Fox Theater on July 31, 2019 in Detroit.

    Justin Sullivan/Getty Images, FILE

    When was the final list of participants announced?

    Candidates had until August 28 to qualify, and the DNC officially announced the list of participants for the September debate on August 29.

    Source link

    Previous Why do presidential debate stages look like bad game shows?
    Next What to watch during the Democratic presidential debate: NPR