Calendar of presidential debates in the 2020 Biden-Trump election: what we know about tonight


[ad_1]

CLICK HERE FOR THE LATEST COVER OF TONIGHT’S DEBATE

WASHINGTON – Despite the cancellation of the second presidential debate and President Donald Trump’s COVID-19 diagnosis in early October, the final debate is scheduled for tonight.

This time, Trump and his Democratic rival Joe Biden will have their microphones cut off during parts of the debate, the Non-partisan Presidential Debates Commission has announced.

“I’m going to participate. I just think it’s very unfair,” Trump said, when asked by reporters about the change on Monday.

Here’s everything you need to know about tonight’s final presidential debate:

When and where does the last presidential debate take place?


Like the first Presidential and Vice Presidential Debate, the final event will last 90 minutes and run from 9:00 p.m. ET / 8:00 p.m. CT / 6:00 p.m. PT until 10:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 p.m. CT / 7:30 a.m. PT.
It will take place at Belmont University in Nashville, Tennessee.

Watch the debate live on ABC or on that station’s website.

Who is the moderator?

NBC’s Kristen Welker will be the moderator. Chris Wallace of Fox News moderated the first debate and Susan Page of USA Today moderated the vice-presidential debate.

Steve Scully of C-SPAN was scheduled to participate in the now canceled “town meeting” debate on October 15. The political editor has since been suspended from C-SPAN after admitting to lying about the hack into his Twitter account when asked about a post. he had sent former Trump aide Anthony Scaramucci to seek his advice.

What changes were made after the first chaotic debate?

Three weeks of wrangling over the format and structure of the debate appeared to have subsided after the CPD on Monday issued procedures intended to reduce the chaotic interruptions that affected the first Trump-Biden meeting last month.

This time around, Trump and Biden will each have their microphones muted as his rival delivers a two-minute opening response to each of the six topics of the debate, the commission said. The mute button will not appear in the open discussion portion of the debate.

Where can I find a recap of previous debates? The town halls in duel?

First presidential debate on September 29: chaos as Trump and Biden interrupt each other

Vice Presidential Debate October 7: Mike Pence and Kamala Harris clash over COVID-19 in a more civilian fight

Town halls of October 15: Trump and Biden go there – remotely

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Copyright © 2021 KTRK-TV. All rights reserved.

[ad_2]
Source link

Previous How to watch PBS NewsHour's coverage of the final 2020 presidential debate online
Next Politics, environment and race scholars share takeaways from presidential debate