Books on war and poverty among Lukas Prize finalists


NEW YORK (AP) — Books about war, poverty and the rule of law are among the finalists for the Lukas Prizes awarded for work that combines literary excellence, in-depth research and social awareness.

Nominees were announced Thursday for three categories: the $10,000 J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize, the $10,000 Mark Lynton History Prize, and the J. Anthony Lukas Work-in-Progress Awards, for which two winners receive $25,000 each to help them complete their books.

The Lukas Book Prize finalists are Andrea Elliott’s Invisible Child: Poverty, Survival & Hope in an American City, Scott Ellsworth’s The Ground Breaking: An American City and Its Search for Justice, and Scott Ellsworth’s Empire of Pain: by Patrick Radden Keefe. The Secret History of the Sackler Dynasty,” “The End of Bias: A Beginning: The Science and Practice of Overcoming Unconscious Bias” by Jessica Nordell, and “The Family Roe: An American Story” by Joshua Prager.

For the Lynton Prize, the nominees are “The Invention of Miracles: Language, Power, and Alexander Graham Bell’s Quest to End Deafness” by Katie Booth, “The Broken Constitution: Lincoln, Slavery, and the Refounding of America” ​​by Noah Feldman, “Amanda Frost” You Are Not American: Citizenship Stripping from Dred Scott to the Dreamers,” “All That She Carried: The Journey of Ashley’s Sack, a Black Family Keepsake” by Tiya Miles, and “Surviving Katyń: Stalin’s Polish Massacre and the Search for Truth” by Jane Rogoyska.

Work in progress finalists are Roxanna Asgarian’s “We Were Once a Family: The Hart Murder-Suicide and the System Failing Our Kids”, Robert Fieseler’s “American Scare: A Cold War in the Sunshine State”, “Disillusioned:” by Benjamin Herald. How the Suburbs and Their Schools Undermine the American Dream”, “Life: Sex, Work and Love in America” by May Jeong and “The Prince and the Revolutionary: Children of War” by Suki Kim.

The winners will be announced on March 16. Past winners include Robert Caro, Jill Lepore and Isabel Wilkerson.

The awards, established in 1998, are awarded by the Columbia Journalism School and the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University. They were founded in honor of the late J. Anthony Lukas, Pulitzer Prize-winning author and journalist.

Source link

Previous Comelec will organize a vice-presidential debate on March 20
Next 2022 Student Government Presidential Debate | News