Academic Activities Winners Announced for the 2021-22 National Guard Cup Presented by the Virginia National Guard – PCPatriot

Galileo, Radford, Fluvanna County, Jefferson Forest, Clover Hill and Thomas Jefferson S&T

claim the 2021-22 National Guard Cup academic crowns

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA – Some familiar faces and two newbies lead the way in the 2021-22 National Guard Cup presented by the Virginia National Guard for year-round academic success. Claiming cups for the first time includes Galileo in Class 1 and Fluvanna County in Class 3. In Class 2, Radford won for the fifth time; in Class 4, Jefferson Forest won for the second time; in Class 5, Clover Hill won its second Cup. Finally, in Class 6, Thomas Jefferson S&T won his sixth Cup since 2013, but it was the first in Class 6.

Strong points: Class 1: Galileo totaled 105 points, followed by last season’s Cup winner Eastside with 85; Class 2: Radford scored 195 points with last year’s champion Central (Wise) second at 90; Class 3: Fluvanna County won the Cup with an impressive 250 points, followed by Maggie for second place with 137.5 points; Class 4: Jefferson Forest ran away with the competition with 286.25 points followed by James Wood in second with 150 points; Class 5: Finalist last year, Clover Hill won their first cup with 345 points followed closely by Princess Anne with 340 points; Class 6: Thomas Jefferson S&T moved up one ranking but continued his dominance in academic pursuits by winning his fourth Cup in five years with 340 points, followed by McLean with 240 points.

First awarded in 1990, the Cup represents 33 seasons of excellence, with six Cups awarded for academic and athletic pursuits in each of the VHSL’s six registration classifications.

A point system determines winners based on their overall performance in VHSL state championship competitions. In addition, schools earn academic activity points for outstanding participation in magazine, news magazine, newspaper, online news, yearbook, broadcast, drama, school bowl, forensics , a debate, a creative writing and a film festival. The full ranking is attached.

For the five Academic Activities involving Team Champions – Academic Bowl, Creative Writing, Debating, Drama, Forensics, and Robotics – points are awarded on the following basis: first place, 50; second place, 45; third place, 40; fourth place, 35; fifth place, 30; sixth place, 25; seventh place, 20; and eighth place, 15.

The rating of the publications is based on the classification obtained in the evaluation service of the League: Trophy Class, 35; First place, 20; Second place, 5.

The VHSL is proud to partner with the Virginia National Guard. The Virginia National Guard has been serving Virginia communities since 1607. The Virginia National Guard is now the title sponsor of the VHSL National Guard Cup to honor the champions of champions! To learn more about the Virginia National Guard, visit

Winners of the National Guard Cup for their achievements in academic activities from 1990 to 2022:

Year Group A Group AA Group AAA
1990 Prince Edward Abingdon Monaco
1991 Prince Edward Abingdon Monaco
1992 Prince Edward Abingdon James Madison/Woodbridge
1993 Saint Paul Abingdon James Madison
Year Group A Group AA Group AAA
1994 Madison County Abingdon James Madison
1995 Madison County Abingdon Chantilly/James Madison
1996 Galax Abingdon Chantilly
1997 Madison County Abingdon James Madison
1998 Madison County Abingdon Chantilly
1999 Madison County Blacksburg Chantilly
2000 Madison County Abingdon George Washington/McLean
2001 Madison County Abingdon George Washington
2002 Madison County Abingdon Chantilly
2003 Madison County Charlottesville George Washington
2004 Madison County Abingdon Chantilly
2005 Madison County Abingdon Chantilly
2006 Madison County Charlottesville Chantilly
2007 Madison County Abingdon Westfield
2008 Madison County Charlottesville Chantilly
2009 Madison County Charlottesville Chantilly
2010 Madison County Salem (Salem) Westfield
2011 Madison County Harrisonburg Westfield
2012 Madison County Harrisonburg Westfield
2013 Madison County Harrisonburg TJ S&T
Year Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 Class 4 Class 5 Class 6
2014 Radford Madison County Lafayette Harrisonburg TJ S&T Chantilly
2015 Bland Co. Central (Wise) Blacksburg Harrisonburg Princess Anne Stafford
2016 Radford Central (Wise) Cave Spring Woodgrove Princess Anne Clover Hill
2017 Radford Central (Wise) Blacksburg Harrisonburg TJ S&T Chantilly
2018 Galileo Radford Turner Ashby Jefferson Forest TJ S&T Chantilly
2019 G.Wythe Maggie Walker Turner Ashby Blacksburg Massaponax Robinson
COVID-19 2020
2021 Eastside Central (Wise) Charlottesville Grafton TJ S&T Robinson
2022 Galileo Radford Fluvanna Co. Jefferson Forest Clover Hill TJ S&T

Source link

Previous John Sullivan selected as new CHSAA Assistant Commissioner
Next Department of School Education JK. orders cessation of academic activities in schools run by Jamaat Affiliate